Twenty-five minutes! (a Couch 2 5K milestone) – micah

There are a lot of things I can do for 25 minutes without stopping. Read a great book. Write an article or blog post. Watch “Glee” (ok, they’d never allow 25 minutes without a commercial). Refresh facebook or twitter.

I can now add jogging to that list. I hesitate to say running because I’m definitely not what you would call speedy. But, still…

TWENTY-FIVE MINUTES WITHOUT STOPPING!

Remember the girl who was afraid of three-minute intervals? I do. But just barely. Running for three minutes straight now barely has me out of breath. Running five minutes straight feels like a warm-up. It starts getting challenging around the 10-minute mark, but I push past it mentally and keep going. When the lady on my podcast told me I only had five minutes to go, I couldn’t believe it. Sure, I was feeling it, but I didn’t feel like I was going to die, which was what I always envisioned I would feel if I ran for an extended period of time. And, yes, 25 minutes is an extended period of time in my book.

I admit, I’ve had some very definite moments of doubt in this Couch 2 5K process, even as recent as Monday. I didn’t get home from work as soon as I thought I would and thus couldn’t get in myrun before dark. I knew it would have to wait until tonight. Race for the Cure (the run I’m preparing for) is just a few weeks away. And I’m just starting Week 7 of the nine-week program.

Will I be done in time?

I’ve finally accepted that I may not be completely ready when it gets here. I’ve decided to just do the best I can when the day arrives. If that means walking for a few minutes, is someone going to make fun of me? A friend suggested I may be more ready than I think. Another suggested that during the run, I may get a burst of energy or motivation from the runners around me. This is not out of the realm of possibilities.

At this point, I feel like anything is possible and that I can do anything. Afterall, I just reached a huge milestone in my fitness life — I jogged for 25 minutes straight. And I’m smiling about it.

Leave a comment

  • DISCLAIMER!

    this blog belongs to the girls who are writing it, and not bethenny frankel. we are not in any way, shape, or form endorsed by bethenny frankel. but we wish we were.