Treat Yourself Well

Why do we think things that are terrible for you are the most delectable??

I mean, sometimes I just want to dive into a rich fudgy chocolate cake. But when I stop to think about it, most of the best foods I’ve ever eaten have come from fresh, healthy ingredients. Think about how good a pizza or pasta dish is when it’s loaded with fresh herbs and veggies. How much better real, fresh bread tastes than the processed loaf that was sitting on a shelf in the store for goodness knows how long. At least to me, fresh foods are just more fulfilling. More satisfying. Mind and body.

For example, last week I had some free time on my hands and I made fresh bread. The BEST thing I did with it was slice fresh tomatoes, a little mozzerella, fresh basil and a slice of prosciutto when I was craving a little salt. Amazing.

Not that you need to be making fresh bread but everything I was eating was fresh and simple and natural. AND it was healthy and satisfying.

When I’m lazy and uninspired I eat crap, too. But when I think about it, I realize my food voice is directing me towards things that are good for me! And the more I pay attention and experiment the more inspired and creative I become!!

On that note, I thought I’d share my favorite dessert as of late. Trader Joe’s Plain Non Fat Frozen Yogurt with fresh strawberries and bananas. (Quick warning: it’s NOT sweet like ice cream, don’t be shocked that it’s a little bitter!)

 

It’s my sugar fix. It’s my cool refreshing treat. It tastes so good and it’s really not half bad for you! I like the tartness of the yogurt and strawberries with the sweetness of a good banana. Those are my favorites but think of the possibilities! Honey or chocolate to sweeten things up! Blue berries? Raspberries? Granola? The possibilities are endless!

I can’t speak for everyone but personally, it satisfies my sweet tooth, it’s packed with enough flavor that it doesn’t take much to satisfy me and I don’t feel guilty after eating it. I’m definitely treating myself but I’m treating myself well.

Now, I’m saying that when I really want ice cream I go for froyo instead. I don’t do light olive oil or diet soda. One of my aunts has always said ‘If you’re gonna have a cookie, have a damn cookie!’ None of this fake-out business, just moderation. But what I AM saying is, I like to be open to the possibility that maybe the healthier option isn’t just the “healthy option”. Maybe it’s good just because it’s damn good.

As far as the frozen yogurt goes, if you’re not sure, try out something at Pinkberry or Yogurt Land or any place else you can buy a cup of tart frozen yogurt. Or come on over and I’ll make you a bowl! Or at the very least, don’t discredit healthy foods just because they seem like healthy trade offs or even because they’re a little bit more expensive. I mean, don’t give up chocolate cake but when you’re treating yourself, consider treating yourself well.

~Kerry

Comments
One Response to “Treat Yourself Well”
  1. Micah says:

    I love a banana lightly drizzled in chocolate. Possibly my new favorite dessert 🙂

Leave a comment

  • DISCLAIMER!

    this blog belongs to the girls who are writing it, and not bethenny frankel. we are not in any way, shape, or form endorsed by bethenny frankel. but we wish we were.