sleep it off! the skinny girl challenge.

The old, “I can sleep when I’m dead” saying, really isn’t helping you. Yeah, yeah, you’re invincible, buddy – but you’re exhausted, sluggish, and probably a little overweight.
Sleep is good for you.
This week I have had little sleep. Late nights, early morning, double-shifts at work – I’m exhausted, both mentally and physically, and a little emotionally exhausted because of family issues.

While the last two weeks I’ve been triumphant and an avid follower of the Skinnygirl Rules, this week I’ve caught myself breaking all of them.

Suffice it to say, the following information did not shock me: According to the National Sleep Foundation (http://www.sleepfoundation.org/article/how-sleep-works/how-much-sleep-do-we-really-need) , short sleep duration, lack of sleep, is linked with:
Increased risk of motor vehicle accidents, increase in body mass index – a greater likelihood of obesity due to an increased appetite caused by sleep deprivation, increased risk of diabetes and heart problems, increased risk for psychiatric conditions including depression and substance abuse, decreased ability to pay attention, react to signals or remember new information.

I’ve ignored diminishing returns. I’ve forgotten to think about my diet as a bank account. I’ve eaten everything, and tasted nothing.
Bethenny addresses the importance of sleep in Naturally Thin,

Most of us don’t get enough sleep, and that’s a serious problem. Sleep deprivation can suppress your immune system, allowing you to get sick more easily. It gives you brain fog, so you can’t concentrate or perform as wella t work, at school, or even in a conversation. Children who don’t get enough sleep can have behavioral problems and adults who don’t get enough sleep feel tired all day. For some people that results in not only excessive caffeine consumption, but excessive appetite. Studies have shown that people who are sleep-deprived eat more, especially more starchy foods like pasta, bread, and sugar.

This explains why my mornings always started well, but in the afternoon, and the late hours at work, I was ravenous and would eat anything in site. Suddenly, that donut looked amazing, or that batch of cookies on the counter, or [disgusting] that s’more pop-tart.
Bethenny leaves us with some tips on how to get a better night’s sleep:

·         Indulge in comfortable luxurious linens.
·         Clean up.
·         Ritualize.
·         No caffeine after 3 p.m.
·         Turn in early – sometimes.
·         Stretching.
·         Meditate.

Personally, I do not have a television in my bedroom, partly for this reason, and partly because I’d probably never leave my room if I had one. I have comfortable linens – down is heaven wrapped in cotton. This week I’m going to focus on the two things that I have control over that have an effect on my slumber.

Clean up. If your bedroom is clean you might sleep more peacefully. Clutter in a room can make you feel stressed and anxious. When the space around you is clean, calm and serene, you’ll feel that way too.

My room is not particularly messy, but there is certainly clutter and bags that I swore I would bring to the donation bin 2 months ago. Perhaps without the clutter, I’ll feel more rested.

Ritualize. Studies show that if you have a nighttime ritual you will fall asleep more easily. Whether it’s taking a bath, reading a book, drinking a cup of non-caffeinated herbal tea, or listening to music, do that one thing before bed every night and your body will know exactly where it’s going.

My current ritual? Get home from work, late, stuff face with food I don’t need, putter on computer (sometimes), wash face, peel off work clothes, climb into bed. That could definitely be worked on…

This week’s challenge: Take a look a look at your sleep patterns and how it affects you in your daily activities. Do you notice it affecting your appetite? Work? Conversations? If you aren’t already, incorporate some of Bethenny’s tips and then ask yourself the same questions – is my appetite different? Am I more alert at work? In conversation?

We may not be able to get 8 hours of sleep at night, but it doesn’t mean we can’t have a restful sleep.

Comments
4 Responses to “sleep it off! the skinny girl challenge.”
  1. Micah says:

    When I’ve been lacking in sleep, I definitely gravitate toward foods that aren’t good for me. I have been trying to get myself in better sleep habits (ideally 7-8 hrs each night), so maybe this challenge will really kick my butt in gear.

  2. Lauren says:

    I am so excited to try these 🙂

  3. i have the issue of being on my laptop in bed…and i think it hurts my sleeping patterns. i’m aiming for 10:30pm every night this week -we’ll see!

  4. allybangbang says:

    Sleep is definitely one of my problem areas. I’ve been trying to get the solid 8 recommended hours but sometimes my schedule is nuts. So far this week, I’ve done well. I feel so much better throughout the day! What a shocker! 🙂

Leave a comment

  • DISCLAIMER!

    this blog belongs to the girls who are writing it, and not bethenny frankel. we are not in any way, shape, or form endorsed by bethenny frankel. but we wish we were.