taste everything, eat nothing – guest post

Ally P. wrote in to discuss her experience with last week’s Skinny Girl Challenge – to TASTE everything and EAT nothing. Thanks, Ally!

Upon coming home from my semester abroad, I vowed, once again, to lose weight. I lived in London for four months of my junior year. I’ve been a competitive swimmer for 12 years, even swimming on the Division 1 Varsity team at Providence College. I’ve always been really into working out but have struggled with my weight since the beginning of high school. In Bethenny Frankel’s Naturally Thin, one of her rules to live by is “Taste Everything, Eat Nothing.” When travelling around Europe this semester, I saw what Bethenny was describing first hand. The Italians are trim, the Spanish are healthy and the English are fit. How do they do it? With all of the amazing foods over there, they know how to savor the delicious foods they eat without overindulging. After gaining weight on my semester abroad, I knew I had to come home and work hard to lose it.
 
My semester abroad brought me to a country where people are not constantly in the gym. They work out and eat right for their health and not as much for vanity. I joined a gym when I first got there and did my best to eat healthy, but with a difficult schedule involving class, interning and traveling, fitness dropped off my list of priorities. A small budget left me eating pretty healthy, but not paying attention to how much I was eating out with friends. I never wanted to miss a chance to do something fun, socialize or try a new food while I was in Europe. I was literally on vacation mode for four months. I also had a boyfriend there, who would cook for me or take me out to dinner often. And let’s be honest, what’s more fun than a chocolate croissant in bed on Sunday morning brought to you by a boy? That’s right, nothing. Once in a while, I would run in Hyde Park in the morning, but that was once a week at best. I figured that all the walking around London or various cities was probably keeping me in check. Well I’m glad that I never weighed myself in London. I got home and a day later visited friends in Providence for Commencement Week. The pictures left me horrified. I had really blown up. But it was okay, I knew this would happen and I enjoyed myself every day I was abroad.
 
So I picked up Naturally Thin. I’ve been a fan of Bethenny Frankel since the first season of Real Housewives of New York. Her rule about “Taste Everything, Eat Nothing,” has really hit home this summer. When I finally got up the courage to step on the scale, I was about 8-10 pounds heavier than I’d like to be. Reasonable and expected. About 2 months later, I’m only down 4 pounds. I am and have been “the last 5 pounds girl” for about four years. I seem to gain and lose the same weight every year. Nothing makes me feel happier or more confident than seeing the numbers on the scale go down. The past couple of weeks, I’ve really been able to use this rule to align my weight loss goals. I work in a restaurant. Awesome, right? It is, actually. I usually don’t notice the food there because I’m busy checking out who is sitting where and who might be coming in. Except when it’s slow and our incredible chef, Joe, decides to cook us up some food. Everyone else loves this thing we have called “shift meal.” Joe will make a whole tray of food for the staff before work starts. Someone will usually tell me, “Hey Ally, there’s some food inside if you want some.” Actually, several people tell me this. I usually eat right before I leave for work so I am genuinely not hungry. I have to remind myself that you don’t want the chicken cordon bleu or the truffle macaroni and cheese. Or after a catering party, the dozens of muffins, croissants, bagels or penne a la vodka that’s in the kitchen. I must say, I’ve been pretty successful.
 
My biggest victories were last week on a slow Monday night when Joe decided to experiment with some pizzas for us to try and let him know what we thought. He made chicken bacon ranch, fried chicken with peppers, shrimp scampi, bolognese and margherita. Holy hell they looked good. So I grabbed the baby slices of each and brought them to the bar. I had a small bite of each and threw out the rest. I tasted everything, but ate nothing. Last night, he had some of the soup of the day. Rustic onion and bacon. Yum. I had a half of a coffee mug of soup and a small piece of bread to soak it up. When I got home, which is at 10pm, when I usually eat dinner, I wasn’t even hungry. I felt satisfied. Last night Joe also made Orange Julius. I haven’t had one of those since I was a kid and probably won’t again for a long time. It’s such a fun thing to have in the summer. So I drank the small cup he gave me and was happy Again, didn’t need anything sweet when I got home. Putting this rule into practice has really helped me realize that I can infact indulge, reasonably. I can eat the delicious food at my job without everyone thinking I’m a crazy person for refusing. I just have to find the balance. I have to pick and choose what I really want.

Comments
One Response to “taste everything, eat nothing – guest post”
  1. Micah says:

    That is huge, Ally!! I would struggle if I worked around food. It’s bad enough we constantly have people bringing food in (one of my co-workers makes HEAVENLY cinnamon rolls). Good work :)

Leave a Reply

  • DISCLAIMER!

    this blog belongs to the girls who are writing it, and not bethenny frankel. we are not in any way, shape, or form endorsed by bethenny frankel. but we wish we were.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

